The Memphis Bar Association provides multiple opportunities, live and prerecorded, for attorneys to earn CLE credits. Our competitively priced seminars are approved for credit in Tennessee, Mississippi, and Arkansas.
Contact Lauren Gooch via email email@example.com or phone (901) 260-3276
Each attorney must complete a total of fifteen (15) hours of CLE, which must consist of no less than twelve (12) General hours and three (3) Ethics/Professionalism hours (or Dual hours) per year. For the years 2019 through 2021 all hours can be earned online as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic.
The CLE compliance year runs from January 1 to December 31. Compliance must be obtained by December 31 or you will be assessed a $100.00 penalty. You have until March 31 to claim an exemption though.
You will owe a $100 non-completion fee, and you will still be required to complete the required hours. The hours you earn following the close of the compliance year will first go toward you shortage, then will count toward the new compliance year.
You have a CLE obligation the year you pass the February Bar Exam but the Commission on CLE will award you the required fifteen (15) hours of CLE credit to fulfill that CLE obligation. If you were not sworn in prior to September 1, then you should contact the Commission on CLE.
Because you did/will not receive your results until October, you do not have a CLE obligation the year you passed the July Tennessee Bar Exam. You will receive your fifteen (15) hours of CLE credit the year following your passage of the bar exam regardless of when you are sworn in. See Rule 21 §4.06.
"Dual" credits are CLE credits that can be applied toward either the Ethics & Professionalism or the general CLE requirement. Hours will be reflected as Dual until the end of the compliance year when our system will first apply Dual credit hours toward the three hour Ethics requirement. Any remaining Dual credit hours will go toward the twelve (12) hours General requirement.
No. The AGE exemption is not automatic. It must be requested. An attorney born in 1949 or earlier is eligible to claim the Age Exemption by filing a request with the CLE Commission.
An attorney born in 1950 or later is eligible to claim the age exemption the year after the year in which the attorney turns 70 years of age. An attorney shall submit a written request for age exempt status to the Commission listing their Board of professional Responsibility number. and requesting the age exemption. Rule 21 § 2.03(c)
Fees can be waived only when they were assessed erroneously and the attorney was in CLE compliance by December 31 (all hours were earned and all fees were paid). See Rule 21 § 7. An attorney may request Exceptional Relief by completing the Request for Exceptional Relief provided upon request from the CLE Commission. See Rule 21 § 2.04
You are eligible to claim the non-resident exemption on the back on the Annual Report Statement mailed to you the last day of February. If you do not annually claim the exemption for the compliance year, you will not receive the exemption and will be expected to complete your fifteen (15) hour requirement.
Looking for a self-paced course? We are adding new options monthly. Current topics and great video/audio quality.
Visit the self-paced cle catalog.
Please note: Internet Explorer is no longer a supported browser. We recommend using Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox or Safari for best results. If you're having trouble logging in to register for a CLE or review your membership information, let us know before creating a new account. Click here for assistance.